top of page

History of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was founded on November 12, 1922 at Butler University, in Indianapolis, Indiana. The Sorority was founded by our seven pearls: Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little, Vivian White Marbury, Dorothy Hanley Whiteside, Hattie Mae Annette Dulin Redford, Bessie Mae Downey Rhoades Martin, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, and Cubena McClure. Sigma Gamma Rho works in partnership with national support organizations including the National Association for the Advancement Colored People (NAACP), The National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC), National Urban League, The United Negro College Fund (UNCF), March of Dimes, St. Jude's Hospital, and many others. 

To learn more about Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., please visit 

History of the Mu Mu Sigma Alumnae Chapter 

On September 16, 2013, a need arose for representation of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. in Gadsden County, Florida and extending the sorority's community service across the Florida Panhandle. An initial meeting was held with Sorors Tabitha Washington, Ivy A. Baker, Annette Wilson, Princilla Brown-Jefferson, Carol Bennett, Brandi Williams, Patrice Conyers, and Lauren White. This meeting spawn an exchange of ideas leading towards the chartering of a chapter. 

As time past, many positive changes occurred in the lives of these Sorors with some transitioning to other areas of the state and country. Yet, on August 22, 2016, contact was made with Regional Syntaktes Jakimva Martin to begin the chartering process for another chapter.

The charter application was submitted March 12, 2017, and it was determined that the charter would be Tallahassee, Florida. Mu Mu Sigma Alumnae chapter was chartered June 28, 2017 in Tallahassee, Florida.  The ceremony was held 6:22 p.m., EST at the William McGill Public Library in Quincy, FL. 

The charter members were as follows: Basileus Ivy A. Baker, Anti-Basileus Rosa James, Grammateus Lauren White, Anti-Grammateus Tabitha Washington, Tamiochus Princilla Brown-Jefferson, Epistoleus Annette A. Wilson, and Parliamentarian Brandi Williams, along with Taihisha Alteme, Alexis Brailsford and Jamila Ramseur-Nance.  Sorors Portia Davis-Hubbard, Alicia A. Davis, and Sharifa Love-Rutledge transferred into the chapter during its first year.

bottom of page